I’m new here….

Hey everyone,

Bear with me as I get used to this whole blogging thing.

Quick background on my typical diet and how much I am obsessed with this Paleo stuff. I am just shy of two weeks on Paleo and I am proud to say I’ve only cheated once. The cheat occurred by licking the frosting off of my finger from cutting my birthday cake and handing it out to co-workers. Guilt set in and then I quickly got over it. Prior to this challenge, I’ve suffered from insane headaches (almost daily) and terrible heartburn from just about anything I eat. Due to the headaches/migraines, I cut out most sugar and don’t go near any artificial sweeteners, so that transition was not difficult for me. I still use Stevia, mainly because this is the sweetener from heaven and hasn’t had any negative affects on me at all. Since starting eating Paleo, I haven’t had a single headache….let me repeat…NOT A SINGLE HEADACHE. I’ve also not experienced one bout of heartburn. So no pills for me!!

My scale broke 3 days before this challenge so I can’t say if I’ve lost any lbs. Honestly, I am happy it broke because I’d be stepping on the thing every 10 min like a crazy person. All I know is I feel great. If this is what it takes to feel like a rockstar, then I don’t see why I haven’t been eating like this for the past 28 years. I am looking forward to finding new foods and sharing some ideas (can’t guarantee they will all be good) with all of you! Enjoy!

The “what’s left in my fridge” Fritatta…Yum

Coconut oil

2-3 pieces of Maverick Ranch Applewood Smoked Nitrate-free bacon (found at publix)

Large portobello mushroom head chopped

Sweet Onion

Minced Garlic

Handful of fresh spinach

5 Eggs

Dash of almond milk (coconut milk would be better but that’s all I had)

Pepper

Diced Tomatoes

Pre-heat oven to 350F.

-Cook up your bacon. Crumble into pieces and set aside.

-Saute your veggies in coconut oil and skillet adding the spinach in the last few seconds to wilt.

-While veggies are sauteing, whip your eggs and milk together adding some pepper to taste.

-Throw the bacon back in the skillet and pour your egg mixture on top. Make sure the veggies are evenly displaced in the skillet. Remain on medium heat for a few minutes till the bottom of the fritatta sets.

-Place skillet in the oven for about 10-15 min till eggs look cooked. Fire up your broiler for about 5 min and you’re all set for a crispy delicious breakfast.

My kid loved it. I loved it…and I am planning on going to a 3 year old b-day party today. Knowing that there will be no Paleo grub at a b-day party and the possibility of stress onset  by screaming children could cause me to dive into some cake pops….I will be packing this for later. Re-heat tomorrow morning and it is just as good. Hot sauce is also an option!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m new here….

  1. I know how you feel. I don’t get acid re-flux when on Paleo. I also don’t fall asleep 5 min after every meal, either. Grains hold me back, period. I’m gonna try that fritatta. Sounds awesome.

    -Justin

  2. sbasinger77 says:

    Thanks Justin! Your gumbo is on my list of things to make next weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

