I am eating a BROWNIE!

So, some say that chocolate is not Paleo. But these are a better alternative than regular brownies which I love….

So, another experiment tonight that came out pretty good.  I was a little skeptical of how a brownie would turn out but they are good!  They do taste a little different than regular brownies but they are sweet.  They would be awesome if I learn how to make coconut milk ice cream to put on the top of one of these warm little guys.

So here is where I found the recipe: RECIPE – Paleo Mama

These were easy to make – I made them with a four year old. Recipe with my notes are below:

16 oz of walnuts
1 egg
1 cup honey
1/2 cup baking cocoa
1 tbs pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp coarse sea salt (Note: I used regular sea salt)
1 tsp baking soda
2 oz unsweetened dark chocolate chopped (Note: I didn’t use unsweetened chocolate – instead, I used Lindt 85% Cocoa Extra Dark chocolate which was low on the sugar scale.  I will try them the other way next time and see how they come out)
1 – 2 tbs coconut oil

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325. Grease a 8 x 8 baking dish with coconut oil.
Pulse walnuts in food processor until smooth and creamy. (Note: I don’t even have a food processor but did this in my little kitchen chopper – turned out fine – might have been a finer consistency in a food processor but it still worked)
In a large bowl, beat an egg. Add in the nut butter and vanilla and honey and stir to combine.
Add in cocoa powder, salt and baking soda. Stir in chopped chocolate.
Pour batter into greased baking dish.
Bake at 325 for 30-35 minutes. It will puff up in oven and settle when it cools. To check doneness, insert a toothpick or knife in the center. It should come out clean.
Cool for 15 minutes and then cut and eat.

Yes, we tried them right away 🙂

"Paleo" Brownies

This entry was posted in informative, picture, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I am eating a BROWNIE!

  1. Andy says:

    Everyone reading this: THESE ARE GOOD!

  2. Melissa says:

    Thanks! They turned out better than I had hoped 🙂

    I will be making these again.

  3. Andy says:

    I finally made these tonight, had to make a couple changes though…
    1. didn’t have any chocolate bars, so those didn’t go in.
    2. i do have a bad mutha of a blender, the walnuts went in there and were finely ground.
    3. no coconut oil, so used Pam instead
    4. i had 18oz of walnuts unstead of 16oz

    They were pretty easy to make. Filled up an 12×8″ aluminum pan easy and evenly. I can really taste the salt in it… maybe it balances out with the chocolate chunks, but I think next time I’ll do without it. The batter tasted very good prior to the baking soda too. also i can really taste the pam…
    overall these taste really good!

  4. justin601 says:

    I made these tonight. Very rich, I needed a glass of milk which probably mitigated the paleo factor, though. Very good! Will make them again.

  5. Pingback: Paleo Brownies! | Fight Together Fitness

  6. eva626 says:

    my sister made cocnut brownies and chocolate chip blondies today…but man these looks so good too!!! and plus i like that they are flour less!

Leave a Reply

