Stuffed Peppers

So, I modified a recipe I found on allrecipes.com. (Original Recipe)  Their recipe called for a lot of cheese and some rice which sounded good but was not very Paleo.  So I took out a few ingredients – the non Paleo ones and the ones I didn’t have on hand.  I think they turned out pretty good and they were easy to make.  Here is what I used:

4 bell peppers
1 lb chorizo sausage
lean ground beef (I am not sure how much – whatever was leftover from the other day; approx 1/2 lb – it needed to be cooked and thought it would be a good addition)
2 stalks celery minced
1/2 cup chopped onion
4 cloves of garlic minced
fresh chopped basil (didn’t measure)
1 can diced tomatoes (check on other ingredients when choosing a brand – I had to look at several before I found one that didn’t have added ingredients)

1. Cut tops off peppers and clean out seeds
2. Place peppers in boiling water for 5 minutes. Remove and set aside
3. Preheat over to 350
4. Cook chorizo and ground beef until almost cooked; drain fat
5. Add celery, onion and garlic and cook ~ 5 min; add salt and pepper to taste
6. Add tomatoes and basil and cook ~ 5 more minutes
7. Stuff peppers with chorizo mixture and bake ~ 30 minutes

Stuffed Peppers!

And I have some leftovers so I have lunch tomorrow!

This entry was posted in picture, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

