A Yummy Recipe and Some Paleo Info

So, now you are part of the way through the second week of the Paleo challenge.  How is it going?  There are people reading this, right?  I hope you have switched your carbs to more healthy fruits and vegetables.  Thought I would add in a pic of the food pyramid I grew up with, the new and “improved” food pyramid and the Paleo food pyramid for comparison purposes.

The original USDA food pyramid

The new and 'improved" USDA food pyramid

The Paleo food pyramid

So this week, you cut out a big piece of the USDA food pyramid.  So, I thought I would add in an article on grains for some light reading and to help explain the why…

Grain article – enjoy!

Now the recipe!!  These were yummy even without the cherries (couldn’t find any that were not sweetened with sugar) and even though I overcooked them a little due to multitasking.  The sauce was awesome!!!!  I served it with some zucchini spaghetti and covered that with the sauce too.  Now I know what is for lunch tomorrow – yay for leftovers!

Here is the recipe: Meatball Recipe I also want to try the Zucchini Sticks she describes in this post – maybe this weekend…

And, I had never cooked with Garam Masala – I will be using this again.

Soooooo good!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Yummy Recipe and Some Paleo Info

  1. Nate says:

    I am reading this, good gouge. I haven’t had any sugar or dairy since Sun 30 Jan 2011. I think that some wheat has found its way into my diet due to sauces, etc…but trace amounts only. I feel better, and have been sleeping fairly well (aside from normal dad duties with a 2 month old).

    Today lunch was salmon sashimi (12 pieces), 1 avocado, carrots. Carrots and apples for snacking between now and dinner (Bonefish Grill – Salmon with vegetables)

  2. Melissa says:

    Great job Nate and thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

