Week one review

One week down on being ‘strict’, don’t know how many to go. Lots of up and downs, lots of days with hardly any sleep and/or food, but here we are a week later and only with a few cheats in there! It’s also been this long (since the start of the blog) of no milk which was really tough at first but now I don’t really think about it. Although I do have to make myself walk away from the milk fridge! Since I arrived in country, I had already started to try to eat on a paleo-based routine, but still had my fill of no-no’s. Then we started the blog to prepare ourselves to lead the gym folk into the February challenge with first hand knowledge and things. Now here I am a month later and I dropped 5-6 pounds and have no energy or motivation most of the time but I think that is partly due to the diet but mostly due to the job. I don’t know what I’m supposed to weigh for peak performance but I was ~180lbs for the last 10 months so maybe that’s a clue of what I should weigh… Either way, got to keep training!

SO what was hardest about week one? The first few days!! The first few days of cutting out everything that you already know you shouldn’t be eating leaves you with very little food. PRO TIP: PLAN OUT YOUR MEALS BEFORE YOU START. This way you don’t wind up hungry and start reaching for your old foods.
The other hard part was cutting out ALL processed sugar. You don’t realize how addicted you are to sugar until you get off the stuff. Your head will hurt, your body will quiver, you will try and convince yourself that you actually need this stuff. PRO TIP: YOU DO NOT NEED REFINED SUGAR. A lot of times you’ll think that something isn’t sugary but it really is and you’ll eat it and wreck the whole cycle. Like a drug addict, you’ll ache for the stuff! The good news is that day after day and finally a few days after starting the want for sugar will be less and less and less, and not by a little but by a lot! Eventually you’ll think you deserve a reward for eating like a real human and treat yourself to some sugary yum-yums and what follows is all the convincing you should need in the argument against sugar! Head will spin, you’ll feel weightless… so weightless that you think you’re floating and when the sugar high wears off (very quickly) you’ll drop out of the sky HARD and land flat on your face, very tired and very jittery and it sucks. Let that be proof enough that you don’t need refined sugar! That goes for the fake sugar too, which is even worse.

You’re probably thinking, “why is he giving out pro-tips if he’s only been on this a week??”… pro tips is just a term I use from time to time, doesn’t make me a pro!! It all started with gaming… but I won’t get into it too much!

Also, cutting out the bread was really the easiest part of them all. The hard part was replacing all that bread with veggies but it can be done and once you get used to it, it’s really quite simple!! PRO TIP:YOU DON’T NEED BREAD AND IT IS NOT GOOD FOR YOU. And that leads me to the last pro-tip of this update: PRO TIP: STOP TRYING TO HANG ON TO YOUR OLD WAYS OF EATING, YOU HAVE BEEN LIED TO YOUR ENTIRE LIFE; YOU MUST UNLEARN WHAT YOU HAVE LEARNED.

hrrmmmhhhmmhmmhmmm

This entry was posted in recap, update, week 1. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week one review

  1. Melissa says:

    I agree with this post – my body is slowly getting used to no sugar and processed foods. For all of you reading this, I believe that first week was the hardest (will let you know later this week). Yes, there are still some things I miss but I know that I am doing something good for myself with this. Readjusting to a different way of eating takes time, takes some mistakes and takes some learning but it can be done.

  2. Melissa says:

    Adding one more thing… The best tip is to plan out your meals. This will help you not only on the grocery shopping side of things but it will prevent you from taking the easy route and just grabbing something that may not be the best choice. Week one was tough for this, week two is getting better – its actually getting a little fun to find some creative ways to cook!!

  3. Andy says:

    So a couple days after typing this up, I’m all better now. Not tired all the time, not hungry all the time, and got a scale to watch the weight daily like I used to.

Leave a Reply

