Day 9 – Melissa

Breakfast
Paleo Pancakes?

I thought I would try something new today and tried making Paleo pancakes. I used the recipe found here: Paleo Pancakes and like a few of the comments said, I had a hard time getting them to set. Maybe its because I was impatient and hungry or because I sometimes have the same problem with regular pancakes too.

Either way, I cooked them up and put them in a bowl like oatmeal – still good with the blueberries and sprinkled with a little cinnamon. I am going to play with this recipe a little because I want pancakes 🙂

I couldn’t eat the whole bowl

Paleo pancakes/oatmeal

1000 Snack
Turkey Jerky

I have to finish off what I have!

1200 Lunch
Chorizo and Beef Burger and a Pickle

This the last of the burgers I made the other night. And, I had some half sour pickles in the refrigerator. They have no preservatives and all the ingredients are Paleo approved minus a little salt. If you have never had a half sour pickle, they usually only sell them in the refrigerated section of the grocery store – they are delicious! Ingredients: cucumbers, water, garlic, salt, spices – you can definitely taste the garlic. I hope this one was OK….

1400 Snack
Banana/Strawberry/Kiwi/Blueberry/Coconut/Coconut Milk Smoothie

My reward for doing the WOD at home on this rainy day!!

1800 Dinner
Spice Rubbed Flank Steak and Asparagus

I modified a few recipes I found for spice rubs online and used a mix of garlic powder, cumin, dry mustard, sea salt and paprika. I used more of the garlic powder than anything. I applied the rub, let it sit for a little while and then cooked. My 4 year old declared “something smells delicious” as I was cooking so that was a positive. Tasted pretty good too and I have leftovers which will be used in lunch salads this week.

Dinner

1830 Dessert
Freeze Dried Strawberries

I bought these at Target, their Archer Farms brand, and the only ingredient was strawberries (no additional sugar added). Very sweet and yummy!!! Another 4 year old declaration that these were “the best snack ever!!” I will be buying these again 🙂

Finished the day by making some food for breakfast and lunch tomorrow – in honor of full food disclosure, I ate four of the bacon strips for the egg cupcakes while I was doing the prep, the top of one of the cooked cupcakes that stuck to the pan and one of the Paleo apple muffins.

That’s right, I made muffins!!  Other than the 1/2 tsp of baking soda that the cave people did not have, everything is Paleo friendly!  I had a hard time finding a recipe that didn’t use honey or some other sweetener.  These are pretty good.  I may add extra apple next time,  I added 1 1/4 organic apples which are smaller than regular apples.  Recipe is from here: Paleo Apple Muffins and this is what they look like…   I will be bringing one for a snack tomorrow.

Apple Muffins!!!

This entry was posted in day 9, picture, recipe, think I cheated, week 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

