Day 1 for Melissa

I am typing a separate Day 1 post for my food since I was so wordy in the previous post.

So, what was on the menu for today?

0845 Breakfast
Banana, mango and pineapple smoothie and scrambled eggs (2 eggs)

How I made the smoothie:
1 banana, peeled and sliced
1 cup frozen mango chunks
1 cup fresh chopped pineapple
1/3 cup coconut milk
Blend in blender

Some breakfast pics. None of the eggs – you all know what scrambled eggs look like 🙂

Before

After

1145 Lunch
Chicken Salad

I grilled several chicken breasts today for lunches throughout the week. Just coated in a little olive oil and threw together a rub with things I had on hand – oregano, thyme, pepper and a little paprika.

I cut up some of the chicken for lunch today and made a modified Waldorf Chicken Salad (missing some of the normal ingredients). Here is what I used.
1 cup chopped chicken breast
1 cup chopped apple (Honeycrisp are my favorites)
½ c chopped walnuts
Coated it all with Paleo mayonnaise and served it over lettuce

So, Paleo mayo…. I am still experimenting with this… A recipe that I like for this, with measurements, will be shared later as I kept throwing different amounts of the ingredients in the blender until I liked the taste. Ingredients I used were eggs, mustard powder, lemon juice, olive oil, almond oil and pepper. A lot of people recommended coconut oil on their websites but I didn’t have that so used almond oil instead. If anyone reading this has a good recipe, please share!

My lunch!!

Overall, a fairly yummy lunch! Its nice to be able to do some prep on Sundays. Don’t expect so many pictures during the week as most of my lunches may be standard salad type fare!

Snacks
I am still figuring out how to snack with this diet.  I am a grazer, I eat all day, so snacks are important to me.  Today I had some almonds and some frozen blueberries (if you have never had blueberries frozen, try them – they are good).

1700 Dinner
Paleo Tacos

Yay tacos! I love Mexican food. This is a twist on traditional tacos since I can’t eat the corn tortilla shells. Instead, I used Romaine lettuce leaves. I pulled the recipe from here which has a lot of great Paleo recipes. The Foodee Project

Here is the direct link to the tacos: Paleo Girls – Turkey Tacos
They made their tacos with turkey. I made mine with lean ground beef and I ommitted the olive oil (didn’t need it with the fat in the meat). I used their recipe for the taco seasoning which was great and made some homemade guacamole (Guacamole Recipe).  I also chopped up some tomatoes to add to the tacos. Yummy!! There is enough here that this will be dinner again tomorrow.

I might have one more 😛

So I made it through day 1. Well almost – I was hungry so ate dinner early so I am sure there will be a snack this evening. I REALLY wanted some ice cream but I was good today. Tomorrow’s challenge will be doing this at the office surrounded by candy and attending a luncheon at an Italian restaurant – eeeeeeeek!

This entry was posted in day 1, picture, recipe, week 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 1 for Melissa

  1. Andy says:

    holy moly that looks good…. and it turns out we have a blender here in the common area!! WIN!!!

    Gonna hit up the market sometime this week and get those things. will put some fish oil in there too 🙂

Leave a Reply

